What the actual hell is going on

So i was pointed to this game via a link in a 2011 thread about something like spore, just not dumbed to hell.

Then i started playing it and i loved it.

Then i noticed that my creature stayed “Generation: N/A” all the time. And i was seemingly not progressing after hours of gameplay. with literally everything but the starting organelles locked. (with some CTDs) Also i couldn’t save normally, just with quicksaves.

Then i looked into the wiki to see when the microbe stage is supposed to end, and saw lots of things mentioned that i’ve never seen in the game. Multiple types of organelles, some that i hadn’t even seen in game, biomes and whatnot.

Then i checked the version history, and saw that only the microbe stage was mentioned as of yet, so i thought maybe the game somehow wasn’t yet developed to the point that other stages were present.

Then i also saw that this version announcement was made in 2015 and that’s the last update on the version tracker page. So i thought the game had probably become abandoned.

Then i checked the dates on the versions, and looked into the github. I saw activity on issues and new issues only days ago. But at the same time there HAD been huge gaps with only two issues posted in 2016.
This was when i gave up and decided to just make a thread here instead:
So what is going on?
Was this abandoned and taken up again? The forums seem active enough with some posts being only minutes old, but despite ambitious goals set out what… 7 years ago, and releases for 4 years, i cannot even add a single different organelle to my microbe. This seems like such and awesome project, how the hell would it be stuck in development hell like this? I wish i could do more than very basic coding so i could help… that… single stage you had so far was so much fun, how come nothing else has been pushed to release since 2015?

1 Like