Astrophotography

There isn’t really any current place here to just talk about what is, IMO, one of the most amazing things to talk about. So I’m making it. Astrophotography is taking pictures of stuff in the sky. No idea tbh if there are many people here that also do it.

I figure that this thread can be a place to talk about it, give advice, and discuss the images that we produce. So I guess I will start it off by explaining my setup and some of the images I have taken.

I have been doing astrophotography for a few months now, though only deep sky for a month. I use a pretty generic 130/650 newt, with a Uranus-C camera, and I am untracked currently, and in B6 light pollution.

My first DSO was of course, the Orion Nebula. It’s a star forming region with very bright hydrogen emissions, making it an easy target.

Since it was my first try, the data sucked. I wasn’t collimated, didn’t get as much data as I would have liked to, etc. I look forward to revisiting the Orion Nebula with better gear, like an OSC triband filter

One of my more recent (and better) images that I took is a mosaic of the Whale and Hockey Stick Galaxies. These are interacting galaxies that have caused the hockey stick like formation.

This is much better data, and you can even see slight coloration in the core of the whale galaxy, which is more visible with increased saturation.

Anyways that’s about all for me, what about you?

10 Likes

Those looks very nice! I’ve always wanted to do astrophotography, it seems awesome but I don’t have the necessary equipment to do so. Are you using software to refine the images? I once saw somebody on YouTube using some kind of assisting app, it can even remove the light pollution and lets you do astrophotography in the city!

1 Like

Yeah Ill explain the steps.

I capture images using Fire capture, but it doesn’t matter what you use they all act basically the same.