Making absolutely huge cell in the editor causes the game to crash and now I can't play it

So… This is a pretty funny story. And I don’t have a crash file or logs, I couldn’t figure out how to find them, and I think they aren’t needed for this situation. If you do need them just let me know. I just started playing thrive today and after a while I got bored (no offense this game is awesome), and so I decided to spice things up a bit. I was in freeplay but this also can happen in the normal game, at least if you’re ambitious enough. I noticed that in the cell editor you can zoom out, a lot. I decided to make the biggest cell possible. I added practically a million flagellum and a bunch of mitochondria and chloroplasts, etc. When I hit confirm… The game froze and eventually loaded into the game, still frozen, but it loaded a previous save file and a different cell which I only saw for a few seconds before my game closed. No error message, no “This game is not responding”, and I’m pretty sure I didn’t run out of memory, it just closed. It also closed the launcher. What’s even weirder is that when I went to reopen the game, it wasn’t there on my taskbar where I had it pinned. I eventually found the game and my save files in windows file explorer, so it didn’t uninstall like I had initially thought. However, whenever I go into the launcher to try to play the game again, it gets stuck on “Process started”. I tried playing a different version and the launcher installed it but it also got stuck. I don’t know how to get it to work again. I think a way to avoid this problem would be to make it so there’s a limit to the size of the cell, maybe add a hexagonal grid with a set radius and you can’t build outside of it, or just have a limited number of things you can add in case players want a weirdly shaped cell. Sorry for the really long post.

1 Like