Skipping stages

Should it be possible to skip stages in thrive (without cheats) and how would you do so if you could?

2 Likes

Assuming dynamic MP cell cost in multicellular stage, you could skip microscopic multicell by making an hyper efficent cell in singlecell and then becoming multicell and placing enough to become macroscopic (but this Depends on the minimum cell cost and minimum cell count needed to become macroscopic in the future)

5 Likes

I propose colony organism developing space tech in awakening or society, skipping industrial

Is this serious or a joke?

1 Like

what about like in spore, where you choose which stage to start in.

It’s Really out there

I was going to try to describe how some stages might be skippable, but the more I think, it just seems completely impossible. Skipping sub stages may be possible (unlikely) but if the game is reasonable no skipping should be possible

2 Likes

I can’t say for sure as I am not a developer, but I imagine stage skipping and just downright choosing a stage to start in would work very different than in Spore, since every planet’s life is tailored to it through natural selection.
Thus if you wanted to skip a stage or start in one of your choosing the game would have to do a really intense auto-evo of the entire history of your planet up until the stage you’ve selected. Or, it would need to use life from another game you’ve played, which would effectively be Spore and would risk poor survival rates for the organisms on the planet.