Custom inventions?

I’m aware that the developers plan on making most items customizable such as dwellings, vehicles, and related things. But what I’m curious about is if there will be a chance to customize everything. From hammers to paintings and the like. To me that seems a little over the top. So I propose the possibility of “random” creations of less significant items like decorations and carriages. I know the developers want everything to be customize-able, but there is a point when that becomes overwhelming. I am not a coder so I have no idea how this would work but a nice way to get out of this problem would be a toggle switch from everything being customizable, to only the things that you choose.

As for the tools, check out this thread. As for other things, things like vehicles and buildings are still up to debate and we’re quite not sure yet (well even that idea of mine in the thread I linked you to is, but most people seemed to like that idea). But a nice balance would be high enough customizability by the player along with not being too overwhelming. What would that look like? I don’t know.
Edit: Also a warning, the thread is pretty damn long and there is not just one topic being covered, it might take you a while to read it all and find all the info you are looking for.

1 Like

Many people seem to like the idea of customising everything. Hopefully we can add that possibility. However I wouldn’t like to spend the majority of time playing thrive just making random inconsequential items. So I’d like to have premade or randomly generated presets for everything to not slow down the gameplay.

1 Like

I think that the less complex stuff such as tools might not need premade parts, as if you don’t care what they look like, you can make something in 10 seconds, as mentioned in the Tech Editor thread several times. As for the more complex stuff, ehmmmmmyeah, that’d be a bit more complicated.